Reviews

9.7
Review Score

Score breakdown

Cleanliness
10
Comfort
9.7
Property Location
9.7
Facilities
9.5
Staff
9.7
Value
9.3

Reviews

    Roberta
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 8, 2018

    If you love the Lakes Basin area, check out the High Country Inn. You won't be disappointed.

    Can't think of anything we didn't like about the stay or the place.
    High Country Inn is beautifully situation at the crossroads to many wonderful hikes and lakes just down the road from Sierra City. Our room (On Golden Pond) was beautiful and the view of the Sierra Buttes each night from the deck outside our room was spectacular. Breakfast was amazing! Bob can really cook. This is not your standard fare, but something much more substantial and delicious. Highly recommend.
    Karl
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    September 4, 2018

    Wonderful Inn keeper, beautiful setting, and scrumptious food.

    Alexander
    ch

    Review Score

    10
    August 30, 2018
    Everything was perfect, even more
    Alexandra Yakovleva
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 7, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review Score

    10
    July 23, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    urbanexus
    us

    Review Score

    10
    July 20, 2018
    Wi-Fi only reliable in main dining/living room
    Lovely setting and great breakfast
    Rosemary
    us

    Review Score

    10
    June 13, 2018

    Beautiful place to stay, super-nice host, wonderful breakfast.

    No cell service, but land-line was available if needed.
    We were the only guests at this small home-style B&B, so we had the place to ourselves. Quaint, cute furnishings in the guest rooms, comfortable homey common areas. Gorgeous setting with a rushing river, small pond (with geese), beautiful lawn and snow-capped Sierra mountains in the background. Nice deck, perfect for relaxing with a good book amid the serene beauty. Close enough to Sierra City (which is tiny) to forage for necessities. Breakfast was outstanding - fresh fruit w/yogurt, delicious veggie omelet and salad, and warm nut bread with butter and jam. Such a healthy breakfast, I made a pig of myself and felt great about it. :-) Host was nearby in a separate building, and very friendly and accommodating. Wish we could go back for a longer stay sometime.
    us

    Review Score

    10
    June 11, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Oleksandra
    ch

    Review Score

    10
    June 4, 2018

    Everything is great about this place

    We stayed in the King Suite with sap bath and it was amazing. It's specious, great view from the adjacent deck outside. The lodge is conveniently located by Lakes Basin - great area for hiking. Fresh air, poor wifi, great views is all you need for unwinding. Bob cooks delicious breakfast and gives the best tips on where to go and what to do in the area. You won't be disappointed!
    Ken
    us

    Review Score

    10
    February 22, 2018

    It feels like home.

    Love the hosts. They are really friendly and kind. Love the surroundings as well!
    us

    Review Score

    10
    October 12, 2017

    Good

    us

    Review Score

    10
    October 10, 2017

    We will stay there again and again!

    The owners were wonderful, very knowledgeable and accommodating!
    David
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    October 4, 2017
    Great setting. Wonderful host.
    Regino
    us

    Review Score

    10
    October 1, 2017

    A beautiful place surrounded by beautiful trees, wonderful views and offering a cozy ambience.

    Bob Latta, the innkeeper, was friendly, engaging and responsive. When he heard that my fishing rod had been left behind by the airline, he offered me use of a very nice fly rod for the duration of my trip. My room was quite comfortable, quiet and clean. The grounds are serene with a trout pond reflecting the buttes in the distance. Fishing locations are all around. The breakfast meal was made with fresh ingredients and delicious. I’ll definitely return.
    Angelica
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 5, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jim from CT
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    August 8, 2018
    Everything was great. Our private bathroom was across the hall but the other rooms have the bathroon in the rooms.
    The host is Bob and he was very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was outstanding and more than adequate. The scenery is beautiful and the roads are good but it is in the mountains.
    Robert
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    July 16, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Brent
    us

    Review Score

    10
    July 12, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Dianne
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    June 20, 2018

    Paradise! A great place to unwind and soak up nature.

    This place is a slice of heaven on Earth. Bob, the owner was incredibly helpful, the breakfasts were wonderful. We did not want to leave.
    Sarah
    gb

    Review Score

    9.6
    September 21, 2017

    Beautiful house in a lovely garden, very quiet location

    Nothing
    Bob was really helpful, quite happy to make an early breakfast for us so we could head out mountain biking. Also we could make tea when we liked, had free run of living area/deck and got fed great breakfasts!
Loading reviews...